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I hope that you are off to a good start in 2022 with
your bridge journey and that you find the articles
helpful.

The Lone Star Regional is the largest in the
district and well worth attending. It has excellent
speakers and events for all levels. Come join the
fun and excitement!

I'm interested in your feedback, so please send
your comments to paulcuneo@sbcglobal.net.

Paul Cuneo

Region 9 Director
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Better Bridge Habits

Thinking at Trick 1

Developing good habits at the table is an important part of learning bridge. Thinking at
trick 1 is a very important habit to develop.

This month, I’'m going to focus on Declarer’s thinking. Mike Lawrence writes in his Private
Lessons CD: “| have stated throughout this program and many of my books and classes
that proper play to trick one is more important than anyone can imagine. It takes years of
seeing big and little errors for you to realize the truth of this.”

The following steps will help with the thinking process:

e Think about each bid as it is made. What is indicated:
o Strength as defined by High Card Points
o Distribution
o Fit with bidders partner
e Memorize the auction prior to the last pass.
» While waiting for the opening lead, mentally review what you’ve learned thus far.

» Once the opening lead has been made and dummy is faced:

o Count the high card points for each side. Were there clues from the bidding about
their possible distribution? Any clues from the opening lead?

e Count your winners and losers.



e Look at the distribution of each suit. How are the missing cards most likely to be
distributed?

o Make a plan to play the hand including entry management, finesses, ruffs, when
to draw trump, when to take losers, etc.

¢ Ask “What can go wrong and how can | modify the plan to cope with that
possibility?”

» Determine what is critical to count during the play to know if your plan will

succeed.

At this point, you are prepared to call the card from dummy. Do not allow the opponents
to rush your thinking process. Over time you'll find that the process gets easier and you
will make better plans.

Eddie Kantar's Bridge Tips

When responding to a takeout double in a suit, jump with 9-11 'revalued' points. A five-
card suit is worth one extra, a six-card suit, three extra. A side unbid four-card suit is worth
one extra. Jacks and queen in suits the opponents are bidding are not counted.

You hold: S. AQ10x, H. Kxx D. xx C. 10xxx

If partner doubles a 1D opening bid and next hand passes, jump to 2S. You have 10 points
including 1 point for the four-card club suit. Your jump is not forcing. A 1S response shows 0-
8 revalued points and is a decided underbid. Partner usually plays you for 4-5 points and a

game could easily be missed. www.kantarbridge.com



http://www.kantarbridge.com/

Improved Declarer Play

Card Combinations

As declarer, many times the ability to make our contract depends on playing one of the
suits in a way that maximizes our chance to take tricks. The Official Encyclopedia of
Bridge by ACBL has a section on playing card combinations. Here is a combination from
the Encyclopedia that seems to occur frequently:

K109 x

XX

We can maximize our chances of 2 tricks by leading a small card towards the 10. If that
wins, repeat the finesse. If your left hand opponent rises with the Queen or Jack, play the
King. If the 10 loses to the Queen or Jack, then lead another small card and finesse the
9. The probability of taking 2 tricks is 50%, and the probability of getting one is nearly
80%. Overall much better than leading to finesse the king.

Demon Defense

Auction: You are West and hold:
N E S W S-A
1D P H -J9432

2D P 2S P D-832



3D P 3S P C —A942

4S all pass

What do you lead? In his book on Modern Bridge Defense, Eddie Kantar writes, “It's easy
enough to try for a ruff when you are looking at a singleton or doubleton, but a clever
defender might be able to tell from the bidding that partner has a singleton or void in a
suit. South’s bidding indicates 6 diamonds and 5 spades. Surely dummy has 4 diamonds.
Lead a low diamond asking for a club return. If partner ruffs as expected and you're Ace
of clubs holds, you can give partner a second ruff. When you win the Ace of spades, you
can give partner a 3rd ruff for down 1.” www.kantarbridge.com

Better Bidding

You hold:
S - AQ63
H-763
D - K763
C-63

Your partner opens 1S. Your right hand opponent makes a takeout double. What is your
bid?

In his CD on Conventions, Mike Lawrence writes, “Bid 2NT. This is the Jordan 2NT
convention which requires 4 or more trump and 10 or more support points (HCP plus
distribution), when partner opens a major suit and your right hand opponent doubles. Do not
bid 2NT with only 3 card support, but re-double instead and support spades on a later round

of bidding. Never re-double with 4 trumps.” www.michaelslawrence.com



https://track.robly.com/4810e32b-421e-4fae-a46b-383fde2aa8434d38017e686329180fc5989cec5d2656
http://www.michaelslawrence.com/

This bidding style informs partner of the total trump holding for your side and partner can
make better evaluations about whether game or slam will make

Its the Law

Law 45 talks about when a card is played. This is a very frequent cause for Director
calls. The following is from Duplicate Decisions which is published by ACBL.:

“Declarer’s card is played when it is held face up, touching or nearly touching the
table, or maintained in such a position as to indicate that it has been played. Itis
irrelevant whether either or both of the defenders see the card. If the card is held in a
manner to indicate declarer has determined to play it, the card is played.

A defender’s card is played when it is held in a position where it could be possible for
his partner to see its face.

Declarer may correct the call of a card from dummiy if it is inadvertent (i.e., a slip of the
tongue) and if there was no pause for thought in indicating a desire to change the card
called. An opponent, however, may change a legal play made in turn prior to the
correction.”

Duplicate Decisions gives the Directors guidelines for determining the correct ruling in
the event the play of a card is contested. The guidelines basically boil down to NOT



allowing the change unless there is overwhelming evidence that it should be
changed. Here is one example of the guidelines:

“Example: It frequently occurs that declarer leads and his play from dummy is
intended to be conditional on the play of LHO. He then prematurely calls a card from
dummy and, observing that LHO’s card makes his choice unpalatable, endeavors to
change it. The change must not be allowed regardless of the tempo, for his first
designation was not inadvertent. Declarer leads a club, intending to ruff in dummy. As
he says “ruff,” he notices that LHO has ruffed with a trump higher than any in dummy.
Regardless of how quickly he says “pitch a diamond,” such a change may not be
allowed, because “ruff ” was not inadvertent.”



