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From the Editor  

  

  

  
  These are very trying times for all as the world struggles with the 
pandemic.I hope all of you are safe, healthy and having fun at the 
virtual club tables.  
 
This is a great time to focus on learning and improving to become 
better players. 
 
Baron Barclay offers a newsletter with 2 free hands every week 
which are very good.  Sign up and enjoy: 
https://baronbarclay.us6.list-
manage.com/subscribe/post?u=13e40f6a288c4a7cab47475d3&id=1
8f24e1649 
 
Marty Bergen has a special offer for players, so check it out below. 
 

I'm interested in your feedback, so please send your comments 

to paulcuneo@sbcglobal.net. 

 

Paul Cuneo 

District 16 Education Chair  
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Better Bridge Habits 

  

  

  
  Even the Best Study 

 
Developing good habits at the table is an important part of learning bridge.  Earlier this year 
we celebrated Eddie Wold's achievement of 75.000 masterpoints and  I was reminded about 
an event I attended earlier to honor Eddie and celebrate his election to the ACBL Hall of 
Fame.  I learned two things there about Eddie that I want to pass on. 
 
The first is from Bob Morris who said that Eddie is constantly studying bridge.  He scours the 
bookstores for bridge books that he hasn’t read and continually refers to his collection of 
Bridge World magazines and his library of bridge books. 
 
The second is from Eddie himself who said that if it were possible to relinquish all of his 
titles,  masterpoints, and bridge knowledge to start over to begin learning bridge he would do 
it! 
 
This month’s tip is to develop a daily habit of bridge study.  Pick a book on some aspect of 
declarer play or defense and study a problem or two a day.  Or find a website which offers 
daily instruction such as ACBL’s Bridge Feed 
- http://bridgefeed.acbl.org/ or bridgeclues.com and spend time studying and learning. 

  

  
  

  
Marty Bergen's Special Offer 

  

  

  
  Marty Bergen is has been a teacher for over 40 years and was a long time partner of Larry 

Cohen.  Marty has created a set of 50 audio visual lessons with interactive software that 

allows purchasers to replay the hands as well as see Marty work through the scenarios for 

both declarer play and defense.  There are 50 practical topics, and each lesson is full 

of helpful tips that are sure to greatly improve your results.  The transcript which 

comes with the lesson is at least 40 pages.  

 

VERY generous ascending discounts for orders of 5+ lessons at one time. 

For example: 5 lessons = 24% off; 10 lessons = 40% off.For all orders of 2+ 

lessons, Marty will thank you personally with another helpful lesson in PDF format 

Due to the pandemic, Marty is making this special discount offer for all of 2020 to players and 

coupling that with a donation of part of your purchase to the ACBL Educational 

  

http://bridgefeed.acbl.org/
http://bridgeclues.com/


Foundation.  To learn more about this offer click here!  With questions about the lessons, 

email Marty at mbergen@mindspring.com 

  
  

  
Eddie Kantar's Tip 

  

  

  
  A direct raise of a second suit promises four-card support (in blood).  

  

You hold: S – xx   H - A10x  D - A10x  C - K10xxx 

 

Partner   You 

1S             2C 

2H            ?     

 

Rebid  2NT with 11-12 HCP. Don’t even think of raising hearts with only three 

pieces.   www.kantarbridge.com 

  

  
  

  
Improved Declarer Play 

  

  

  
  Card Combinations 

 
As declarer, many times the ability to make our contract depends on playing one 
of the suits in a way that maximizes our chance to take tricks.  The Official 
Encyclopedia of Bridge by ACBL has a section on playing card 
combinations.  Here is a combination from the Encyclopedia that seems to occur 
frequently when I open a weak 2 bid: 
 
            A J 10 9 x x 
 
             x 
 
If you need 5 tricks, finesse the Jack.  If you only need 4 tricks, lead to the A 
hoping to drop a singleton honor.  Overall probability of 5 tricks is 23%; 4 tricks is 
89%. 

  

  
  

  
Demon Defense 

  

  

  

http://email.robly.com/ls/click?upn=Si-2FOSHnD-2FUiaOw-2BnBDzf1yIEMiT4rWbc4Ot4oQPU3blU5xqU2GNaZ19oIpj2Gj3AmzReu53fUApgFWbvgdfcgkMwCZLDpAOKMRU9UZfFKy38rwy715rfyXzPesftXEnv6XXj_-2BBUsvrwAC2rPZLU7UyDuJL8t4JClIGQsT6cSIGez4UKIAaSqNYW8-2BSNzs1gyhAhtbgXdLR4Kibt37w3aU5hQsrX1vdU8k-2FnGRVIGLhruu75qpVHLicgjEOMwv9fHvcxIX0ll6orJA6Fik94bV6IQtxomNrVN7rYL01RVOh2QPWuk0euivFm-2BCs4hsw9RQ-2BE9yAYWVEr7pRi70GDoPBt2-2FimcATaxdITeHriNeM7XvsFc5rlpOonInqDvVejWULnfwR7vhI2kFM3q1rH4AomeuNenBW8ElJh0MWITTUuNt6fAI5g5Oc2-2BbU2vmGnRGHNHbs3G1rXiMi4LxVpV43x-2BCiVmeSAuzH2ZyVUtoBiHaCcdl-2F3EilhWyeoOsJMJurgBvRJx-2FmbzMT8CtuJc4s77C-2FYQk1whrS3RB-2FW0e-2B8cFXFGmCbzeB9f2v0IK5a-2B9GZOEIgOOIWIfCVQiYyhXZbIPg-3D-3D
mailto:mbergen@mindspring.com
http://email.robly.com/ls/click?upn=Si-2FOSHnD-2FUiaOw-2BnBDzf193W9Dzahl4vckHlugW4-2BkIYMUqKEapehaAADN6l7js-2FzYV3_-2BBUsvrwAC2rPZLU7UyDuJL8t4JClIGQsT6cSIGez4UKIAaSqNYW8-2BSNzs1gyhAhtbgXdLR4Kibt37w3aU5hQsrX1vdU8k-2FnGRVIGLhruu75qpVHLicgjEOMwv9fHvcxIX0ll6orJA6Fik94bV6IQtxomNrVN7rYL01RVOh2QPWuk0euivFm-2BCs4hsw9RQ-2BE9yAYWVEr7pRi70GDoPBt2-2FimcATaxdITeHriNeM7XvsFc5rlpOonInqDvVejWULnfwR7vhI2kFM3q1rH4AomeuPVWJT-2Fl-2FiNqAgTq3HmHKzKTh4P7SGFh0Uhu0AzIofxGADX33kGbJmt5jv3xOX86GKfcZtWqMdZxoHI1N8rL8SYnw6q5aT6FG2obIiAVRE9cYhgZCDdrJmUQjHEe0CmCvnHymSuWyk-2F2iPH4ecEP-2FnL5Bbr9uCOsWkMSy9iyOdChwsmXRTyhrcK2FSDphY54Vw-3D-3D


  Overtake the lead of the King with Ace doubleton  – Eddie Kantar writes in his book “Modern 

Bridge Defense” about overtaking the lead of the King when you have Ace doubleton.  “Against 

either a suit or notrump, partner leads the King and you have Ace doubleton.  Overtake!  At 

notrump, partner figures to have lead from KQJ or KQ10, so unblocking isn’t going to cost a trick, 

but may save 3 or 4!  At a suit contract, overtake even though partner may only have KQ.  Even if 

you set up a trick for declarer’s Jack, partner can lead a third round for you to trump.” 

 

                        N – 643 

W – KQ1082                             E – A7 (you) 

  

                        S- J95 

At trick 1, West leads the K, you play the A and return the 7.  Partner will win the Queen and 

continue with the Jack if they have it.  If partner does not have the Jack and continues, you get to 

trump the continuation.    www.kantarbridge.com  

  

  
  

  
Bidding Tips 

  

  

  
  Responding to takeout doubles 

 
In his book “The Complete Book on Takeout Doubles” Mike Lawrence talks about 
responding to takeout doubles. This is an important part of competitive bidding 
and requires partnership understanding. You can find lots of books and articles 
about this topic. Mike Lawrence writes: “A bid of a suit at its lowest possible level 
shows from 0 to some fair 8 point hands. A jump in a new suit shows and 
invitational hand and may be made with only 4 pieces and generally 8 to 11 HCP. 
There is more to a jump response than points. You have to upgrade some high 
cards and downgrade others and make allowances for extra-long suits.” Here are 
some examples” 
 
W         N         E         S 
1C         Dbl     P         ? 
 
You are South and hold: 
 
S – AJ53 H- 83 D – A1093 C – 653 Bid 2 Spades. Good quality HCP in suits 
partner likes. 
 
S – KQ74 H – 743 D – J32 C – QJ3 Bid 1 Spade. With 4-3-3-3 shape and 3 of 
your points in clubs 1 Spade is enough. 
 
S – 3 H – J10763 D – AJ763 C- 43 Bid 2 Hearts. Your 5/5 shape and singleton 
spade will be very helpful in the play. 

  

http://email.robly.com/ls/click?upn=Si-2FOSHnD-2FUiaOw-2BnBDzf193W9Dzahl4vckHlugW4-2BkIYMUqKEapehaAADN6l7js-2F1aag_-2BBUsvrwAC2rPZLU7UyDuJL8t4JClIGQsT6cSIGez4UKIAaSqNYW8-2BSNzs1gyhAhtbgXdLR4Kibt37w3aU5hQsrX1vdU8k-2FnGRVIGLhruu75qpVHLicgjEOMwv9fHvcxIX0ll6orJA6Fik94bV6IQtxomNrVN7rYL01RVOh2QPWuk0euivFm-2BCs4hsw9RQ-2BE9yAYWVEr7pRi70GDoPBt2-2FimcATaxdITeHriNeM7XvsFc5rlpOonInqDvVejWULnfwR7vhI2kFM3q1rH4AomeuHDRozbi-2BXK2IGfoyZI77iv5VcWXEBAtmZ-2FqJ2h9plQyeaEDmI62p7oGwEw8yq46tWTp3q4A1z9gs7rmZRxv7kndFuzKgVkVt-2Ftp3uJinQ8qMQxAAf-2FEaJPXN5dCIYTqyTAg5Nkg-2BO-2FC5296g3EB4aQybKtqFMtMG7Abt-2F-2Bhj5BxfAubQHWDKzj9XfSBhL4I6g-3D-3D


 
www.michaelslawrence.com  

  
  

  
Its the Law 

  

  

  
  Lead Out of Turn 

 

We’ve all been at the table when a Lead out of turn has been made.  Sometimes this happens 

on the Opening Lead, and other times it happens during the play.  

 

Laws 53 thru 58 address the various situations.  If a Defender makes a lead out of turn, the 

Director must be called, as declarer has several options.  Duplicate Decisions covers these 

laws: 

53 Lead out of Turn Accepted 

Any Lead Faced out of Turn May Be Treated as a Correct Lead 

 

If declarer or either defender, as the case may be, accepts it by making a statement to that 

effect. (If no acceptance is made, the Director will require that the lead be made from the 

correct hand.  NOTE: See Law 50 E for declarer’s options if the proper lead is to be made by 

the partner of the player who led out of turn.) 

If the player next in rotation plays to the irregular lead. 

 

54 Faced Opening Lead out of Turn 

The Director’s ruling should begin with this statement to declarer: “You have five options. 

They are: 

1. “You may accept the lead from the wrong hand and see dummy before playing in proper 

sequence from your own hand.” 

 2. “You may accept the lead and become the dummy.” (If the declarer exposes one of more 

cards, he must spread his hand, becoming dummy.) 

 3. “You may require the lead — one time only from the proper opening leader — of the suit 

that was improperly led, and the penalty card is returned to the offender’s hand. 

4. “You may prohibit the lead — from the proper leader for as long as he holds the lead — of 

the suit that was improperly led, and the penalty card is returned to the offender’s hand. 

5. “You may leave the improperly led card on the table to remain a penalty card. The opening 

leader can lead as he chooses. If the correct opening leader retains or regains the lead, 

  

http://www.michaelslawrence.com/


however, and his partner still has the penalty card, you will, each time before the defender 

leads, have the choice of exercising option 3, option 4 or option 5.” 

NOTE: A player may withdraw a lead out of turn if the leader was mistakenly informed by an 

opponent that it was his turn to lead (Law 47E). Remember, too, that an opening lead by the 

declaring side may not be accepted, Law 24. 

55 Declarer’s Lead out of Turn 

The Laws state that either opponent may accept or require retraction of a lead out of turn by 

declarer. (Note: if the lead out of turn was due to misinformation from an opponent, see Law 

47 E.) 

 

Occasionally someone will point out declarer’s lead from the wrong hand. That is merely 

calling attention to the irregularity. Both defenders still have all their rights. The proper method 

of extending the defenders their rights is as follows: 

1. The Director should advise the defenders that either of them may accept or reject the lead. 

They are not allowed to consult and the first to speak will speak for the partnership. 

2. The Director should explain that if a defender chooses to reject the lead, declarer must lead 

from the correct hand but is not required to lead the same suit. The card incorrectly led will be 

restored to its proper hand with no further penalty, and declarer will make any legal play from 

the correct hand. 

3. If no one has yet spoken up, the Director should say, “If neither of you cares to accept the 

lead, declarer will be required to lead from the proper hand,” pause for a moment, and then so 

direct the declarer. If a defender requests a little more time to ponder his decision, the 

Director should honor the request. 

 

56 Defender’s Lead out of Turn 

Declarer’s Options when a Defender Leads out of Turn: 

1. Declarer may choose to accept the lead out of turn. 

2. Declarer may require the defender to retract his lead out of turn. The card illegally led 

becomes a major penalty card. 

 

57 Premature Lead or Play 

Declarer’s Options: 

When a defender leads to the next trick before his partner has played to the current trick or 

plays out of turn before his partner has played, the card so led or played becomes a major 

penalty card. Declarer has three options: 

 1. He may require offender’s partner to play the highest card he holds of the suit led. 



2. He may require offender’s partner to play the lowest card he holds of the suit led. 

3. He may prohibit offender’s partner from playing a card of a different specified suit. 

NOTE: When offender’s partner is unable to comply with the choice made by declarer, he 

may play any legal card. 

When a defender plays before his partner, there is no penalty: 

1. If declarer has played from both hands or indicated a play from dummy. (A premature play 

by declarer from either hand is a played card, it may not be withdrawn.) 

2. If dummy has played a card on his own initiative or illegally suggested that it be played. 

NOTE: A singleton in dummy or one of a group of cards in the same suit which are equal in 

rank is not considered to be automatically played. 

 

58 Simultaneous Leads or Plays 

A lead or play made simultaneously with another player’s legal lead or play is deemed to be 

subsequent to it. If both defenders lead at the same time, for example, and one was the 

proper leader, the lead from the defender who was not the proper leader should be treated as 

a penalty card using Law 50 as a guideline.  

If a Player Leads or Plays More than One Card Simultaneously: 

1. When only one card is visible, that card is played and the other card(s) is returned to the 

player’s hand without penalty. 

2. When more than one card is visible, the player chooses the card he proposes to play. Each 

of the other cards becomes a penalty card subject to Law 50 if the player was a defender. If a 

single remaining card is lower than a 10, it becomes a minor penalty card — the offender is 

entitled to know this prior to selecting the card to be played. 

 3. If the simultaneous play remains undiscovered until both sides have played to the next 

trick, the Director would, without exposing the extra cards, return them to the player’s hand. 

Those cards may constitute a revoke if the player could have played one to an earlier trick 

rather than not follow suit. (See Law 67.) NOTE: After a player withdraws a visible card, an 

opponent who subsequently played to that card has the right to withdraw his card and 

substitute another without penalty. The Director may award an adjusted score if the withdrawn 

card gives information to the offending side that benefits them in the play.  

  
 


