Minutes of Meeting of the Board of Directors

February 6, 2016

A regular meeting of the Board of Directors of District 16 of the American Contract Bridge League was held at the Houston Marriott Westchase Hotel on February 6, 2016.

Board members, Committee Chairs, and others present:

•	Paul Cuneo	President, District 16 1^{st} Alt. Director, ACBL BOD, and Unit 174 Representative
•	Tomi FitzGeral	d1st Vice President, Unit 176 Representative, Tournament Coordinato
•	Rebecca Brown	nExecutive Secretary
•	Rebecca Brown	n (alt)Unit 172 Representative
•	Steve Shirey	Unit 183 Representative
•	David Ticen	
•	Larry Davis	Unit 207 Representative
•	Gay Roach	Unit 225 Representative
•	Lynn Sykes	Unit 233 Representative
•	Johnny Johnso	nUnit 237 Representative
•	Dan Morse	District 16 Director, ACBL Board of Directors
•	Bob Morris	^{2nd} Alternate District 16 Director, ACBL Board of Directors
•	Dewitt Hudson	District 16 BOG Representative
•		District 16 BOG Representative
•	Betty Starzec	District 16 BOG Representative
•	Betty Starzec Jonathan Ernes	
•	Betty Starzec Jonathan Ernes Nancy Strohme	tAppellate Coordinator
•	Betty Starzec Jonathan Ernes Nancy Strohme Scott Humphre	r
•	Betty Starzec Jonathan Ernes Nancy Strohme Scott Humphre Carolyn Pinto	r
•	Betty Starzec Jonathan Ernes Nancy Strohme Scott Humphre Carolyn Pinto Jim Thurtell	Appellate Coordinator Charity Coordinator Sanctions Coordinator I/N Coordinator
•	Betty Starzec Jonathan Ernes Nancy Strohme Scott Humphre Carolyn Pinto Jim Thurtell Robert Hartma	Appellate Coordinator Charity Coordinator Sanctions Coordinator I/N Coordinator GNT Coordinator

Call to Order and Welcome

President Paul Cuneo called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. after it was determined that a quorum was present. He welcomed special guests, Robert Hartman, ACBL CEO, Ken Monzingo, ACBL President and Sylvia Hardin, ACBL Director of Field Operations.

Election of New Officers

Nominations for officers were solicited. Betty Starzec nominated Tomi FitzGerald for President, with a second from Steve Shirey; Tomi FitzGerald was elected by acclamation. Paul Cuneo then nominated Rebecca Brown for 1st Vice President, second by Jim Thurtell; Rebecca Brown was elected by acclamation. Betty Starzec then nominated Nancy Strohmer as 2nd Vice President, second by Jim Thurtell; Nancy Strohmer was elected by acclamation. Jim Thurtell nominated Lew Levy for Executive Treasurer, second by Paul Cuneo; Lew Levy was elected by acclamation. Paul Cuneo nominated David Pearlman to serve as Executive Secretary, second from Dan Morse. After some discussion as to whether the 1st Vice President might continue as Executive Secretary, a vote was taken. David Pearlman was elected.

Past Minutes and Consent Agenda

Paul Cuneo moved to approve the September 5, 2015 meeting minutes and consent agenda, second by Jim Thurtell. Motion carried.

Committee and Unit Reports

<u>See</u> Committee and Unit reports submitted and previously distributed. No action requested or taken as a result of any reports.

Board of Directors Report

Dan Morse reported that:

- Houston was awarded the USBF Open Team Trials in 2018;
- Each District may hold up to 3 NLM Regionals per year, with 25% gold points for overall awards. These regionals may be scheduled at the same time that an open sectional is held in the region and may be 2-6 days in length;
- The ACBL Recorder system is being revamped. Very few unit or district recorder memos have been submitted;
- The ACBL has formed an Ethical Oversight committee
- Tournament Director University, implemented in 2014, has been very successful, with emphasis on customer service and new technology. (Carolyn Pinto was one of 15 graduates in 2015.)

Old Business

- 1. Learn Bridge in A Day. Unit 174 hosted Learn Bridge in a Day, held two days before the Regional. Betty Starzec instructed an impressive 98 participants! The Unit charged \$20 for registration, including lunch. Paul Cuneo moved that the District pay for a district-wide license (\$300/year) which would cover up to five licensees. Second by Jim Thurtell. Motion carried.
- 2. GNTs/NAPs. As has already been announced, the GNT/NAP committee concluded that Flights B and C teams would no longer have to qualify at the unit level in order to play in the District finals. This was done in an effort to increase participation at the district level. It was suggested that B and C teams should register in advance (not as a prerequisite to play) so that space and directors can be allocated properly.

NAPS will still require Unit qualification. Melody Euler resigned her position as NAOP Coordinator. The Board thanks her for her excellent work and dedication to this effort. Betty Starzec moved that Roxie

Tom be named as NAOP Coordinator to replace Melody Euler, second by Rebecca Brown. Motion carried.

New Business

- Paul Cuneo presented the 2016 Budget in the absence of Lew Levy, Executive Treasurer. The loss
 of \$11,000 in 2015 is actually offset by \$15,000 in receivables from the Grass Roots Fund, which
 reflects an accounting system "glitch." A change in the Grass Roots Fund pay date will be taken
 up at the NABC in Reno. Motion to approve the 2016 Budget by Rebecca Brown, second by Dan
 Morse. Motion carried.
- 2. Cell phone use. Larry Davis proposed the imposition of penalties for cell phone use in playing areas during Regionals and District-level GNT and NAP events. He further proposed that the District recommend that Units adopt the policy for Sectionals. The policy would be effective beginning in April at the Ft. Worth Regional. Penalties to be imposed are as follows:

Pair events: 1st infraction - ¼ board; full board if player answers the phone

2nd infraction - full board

KO events: 3 IMPS; 12 IMPS if they answer

2nd infraction-12 IMPS

Swiss team events: 1VP; 4 VPs if they answer

2nd infraction – 4VPs

Rebecca Brown moved to implement the proposal, second by Jim Thurtell. Motion carried. Betty Starzec suggested that the policy be announced in the Scorecard.

President Tomi FitzGerald congratulated Unit 174 on its excellent organization and table count in the Regional. Last, but not least, she thanked outgoing President Paul Cuneo for his outstanding service to the District.

Meeting adjourned at 9:40 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Rebecca Brown, Executive Secretary